Celibacy: Freedom From Women

I’m not Catholic, but I’m very much in favor of the existence of Catholicism. The world would be a poorer place if it had never existed.

I’m always amazed, incidentally, that many non-Catholics, particularly atheist feminists, are so furious that women can’t be priests. I certainly won’t presume to tell Catholics how to run their religion. Since the days when one could be burned at the stake for not being Catholic are long past, why should anyone care how Catholics go about being Catholic? I don’t crash the local Wiccan gathering to tell them they’re drawing down the moon the wrong way. Of course, they just hate the idea that there is anywhere they can’t get, even if they don’t want to get there; this is an immature refusal to accept limits. Also, of course, they hate that there are men out there who are free of them.

I happened to be thinking about the celibate Catholic clergy last night and realized abruptly how important that is. No, I don’t think that the clergy of all faiths should have to be celibate, but I hope and pray the Vatican can stand its ground on this matter as well as on the ordination of women.

Marriage (that is, monogamous patriarchal marriage that can’t be abandoned at whim) is a good thing. It has a good effect on people and society. However, a married man, even in a patriarchal society, will inevitably be influenced by his wife, who in the majority of cases is going to be his moral and intellectual inferior. (One of the benefits of proper marriage is that it binds almost every woman to a man who can influence her morals for the better and stop her from making too many bad decisions.) Even a man who has been encouraged all his life to stand his ground as a man should can be worn down by having the one who cooks his meals and sleeps beside him constantly nagging him against his better judgment. In addition, men who are pursuing women for affairs or romance are all too often led into folly by their wish to impress the object of their desire. Sometimes this is good; this urge has led men to make fortunes, improve themselves, and so on, but it has also led them to do foolish, destructive things.

The Vatican, therefore, provides us with a powerful group of men who are completely free of such motivations. (We will here ignore the decadent phases where many priests openly kept mistresses and so on, as well as the few who will always fall and sin. For the majority of its history, the Catholic priesthood has been celibate, despite the efforts of Hollywood to convince us that Catholic priests are real ladies’ men. Of course Hollywood people can’t believe anyone could really give up sex!) Priests should remain celibate because celibacy renders them free from women, their mental and moral inferiors.

Indeed, I have read that the eunuchs who guarded Arabian harems considered themselves fortunate to be unencumbered by the need for women. I am certainly not suggesting we revive the custom, merely pointing out that it has its good points!

I am not, by the way, a big fan of female ordination. I can’t say I’m militantly against it, but I’m glad that some denominations are standing firm against it. Also, the particular house of worship I attend is presided over by a man, and I know I would never choose one that was shepherded by a shepherdess. A few of them might be good at it, but really, if a woman has so defied tradition as to take that position, she is probably already unsuited for it. Part of the point of religion is that it’s supposed to preserve tradition and time-tested truth against ideological fads, such as feminism, so a religion that promotes feminism is not doing its job. I’m not surprised that even in those Judeo-Christian faiths that have allowed women’s ordination, male clergy invariably far outnumbers female. Judeo-Christian religion is basically masculine; it tells its followers to resist their nature and emotions, something few women can do without massive social support, and instead do what is right. Doing what is right when this is not popular is masculine behavior; women evolved to survive to reproduce, and female survival has always depended on keeping the favor of other members of the tribe. In short, the cloth is not a profession for which women are really suited.

Notice also that, despite the enormous political power of feminism, the trendy feminist religions, the various forms of Goddess-worshipping pseudopaganism, haven’t managed to get organized, or powerful in the sense that many Judeo-Christian organizations are. It’s run by women, and unlike the female vote, men have no motivation to help it along; what do you expect?

Judeo-Christian religion – and, for that matter, all civilized religions – sees God as masculine. That’s “masculine”, not “male”, because He is not literally male. He does not have a body. But we cannot help anthropomorphizing Him, and because of this, it is vital that we see Him as a Father, not a Mother. Even the Catholic Virgin Mary is the Mother who loves unconditionally and forgives us even when we do not deserve it, and who will intercede with God when we have sinned. God, being a Father, is less quick to forgive; He expects us to behave properly. The parallels with the normal family should be obvious. Children who grow up without a human father are amply demonstrated to be more delinquent, neurotic, shiftless, etc. A society without a Father God shows every sign of being the same.

15 Responses to “Celibacy: Freedom From Women”

  1. Mr Zopo Says:

    This is the best blog I’ve ever seen. I just love this blog.

  2. Mr Zopo Says:

    This is the best blog I’ve ever seen. I just love this blog.

  3. Mr Zopo Says:

    This is the best blog I’ve ever seen. I just love this blog.

  4. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Wow, thank you! I hope you’re checking out the other MRA blogs in my link list.

  5. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Wow, thank you! I hope you’re checking out the other MRA blogs in my link list.

  6. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Wow, thank you! I hope you’re checking out the other MRA blogs in my link list.

  7. Exposing Feminism Says:

    I love this blog too, MCW.. please link me! 😉

    http://exposingfeminism.wordpress.com

  8. Exposing Feminism Says:

    I love this blog too, MCW.. please link me! 😉

    http://exposingfeminism.wordpress.com

  9. Exposing Feminism Says:

    I love this blog too, MCW.. please link me! 😉

    http://exposingfeminism.wordpress.com

  10. MarkyMark Says:

    MCW,

    I too love your blog; keep up the great work! You’re on my link list, since I’m a regular here. If you haven’t already done so, could you link to me also? Thanks!

    Now, I would like to comment on your post…

    I never, ever, ever understood why the feminazis are so INTENT on storming into organizations which: 1) they do not really, truly want to join, as they do not and cannot subscribe to the TENETS of the church; 2) refuse to acknowledge the fact that an organization, such as the Catholic church, has a right to run its affairs as it sees fit, e.g. refuse to ordain women; 3) I absolutely HATE how the feminazis will not simply walk away from organizations with whom they differ on philosophy, but rather try to bend the church’s will to their liking.

    As for the ordination of female priests, I too am glad that the Catholic church is holding firm on the issue. I’m not a Catholic either, but I know fine people who are. Anyway, the church as a right to govern itself as it sees fit; it’s none of my business, nor is it anyone else’s business, as to how they do this. If I’m a member or aspiring member, I have one of two choices: 1) if I choose to stay, then I’m obligated to follow the Catholic church’s dicates; or 2) if I don’t like what they do, or how they do it, then I can walk away rather than cause disharmony within the church.

    That’s the PROPER & JUST way to treat all organizations. If you like what they do, fine; if you don’t, then you need to go elsewhere. I never, ever, ever understood why feminists don’t get this.

    Finally, while I understand why the Catholic church requires its priests to be celibate, I object to the MANDATORY NATURE of the church’s dictates. Why? Because it’s not SCRIPTURAL, that’s why. While Paul discussed the advantages of single vs. married life in I Cor 7, he never said that it was a REQUIREMENT; he only said it was an option, then laid down his reasons why. God never COMMANDS the Christian to be single; He only points out the pros & cons of each, and leaves it up to each person’s discretion.

    That said, even if a man has a good, Godly wife, one who treats him well, he will still be distracted by the duties and responsibilities to her. Good men want to see their wives happy; that means men will do things in an attempt to please their wives. We’re hard wired to do this as men.

    But, let’s say that a man has a Godly wife who isn’t materialistic at all. She doesn’t make his life miserable; if anything, she blesses him. That said, if she’s keeping the house and a sink clogs up, then who’s going to fix these problems? Most likely a man will do it. If a man has any decent bone in his body, he WILL fix the sink problem, so his wife won’t have to work as hard keeping their home. Of course, this will distract the man from an spiritual activities; it’s just that simple. I could go on, but you get my point.

    Listen, I’m having a hard time typing coherent thoughts, so I shall sign off. Have a good night, and I’ll be back…

    MarkyMark

  11. MarkyMark Says:

    MCW,

    I too love your blog; keep up the great work! You’re on my link list, since I’m a regular here. If you haven’t already done so, could you link to me also? Thanks!

    Now, I would like to comment on your post…

    I never, ever, ever understood why the feminazis are so INTENT on storming into organizations which: 1) they do not really, truly want to join, as they do not and cannot subscribe to the TENETS of the church; 2) refuse to acknowledge the fact that an organization, such as the Catholic church, has a right to run its affairs as it sees fit, e.g. refuse to ordain women; 3) I absolutely HATE how the feminazis will not simply walk away from organizations with whom they differ on philosophy, but rather try to bend the church’s will to their liking.

    As for the ordination of female priests, I too am glad that the Catholic church is holding firm on the issue. I’m not a Catholic either, but I know fine people who are. Anyway, the church as a right to govern itself as it sees fit; it’s none of my business, nor is it anyone else’s business, as to how they do this. If I’m a member or aspiring member, I have one of two choices: 1) if I choose to stay, then I’m obligated to follow the Catholic church’s dicates; or 2) if I don’t like what they do, or how they do it, then I can walk away rather than cause disharmony within the church.

    That’s the PROPER & JUST way to treat all organizations. If you like what they do, fine; if you don’t, then you need to go elsewhere. I never, ever, ever understood why feminists don’t get this.

    Finally, while I understand why the Catholic church requires its priests to be celibate, I object to the MANDATORY NATURE of the church’s dictates. Why? Because it’s not SCRIPTURAL, that’s why. While Paul discussed the advantages of single vs. married life in I Cor 7, he never said that it was a REQUIREMENT; he only said it was an option, then laid down his reasons why. God never COMMANDS the Christian to be single; He only points out the pros & cons of each, and leaves it up to each person’s discretion.

    That said, even if a man has a good, Godly wife, one who treats him well, he will still be distracted by the duties and responsibilities to her. Good men want to see their wives happy; that means men will do things in an attempt to please their wives. We’re hard wired to do this as men.

    But, let’s say that a man has a Godly wife who isn’t materialistic at all. She doesn’t make his life miserable; if anything, she blesses him. That said, if she’s keeping the house and a sink clogs up, then who’s going to fix these problems? Most likely a man will do it. If a man has any decent bone in his body, he WILL fix the sink problem, so his wife won’t have to work as hard keeping their home. Of course, this will distract the man from an spiritual activities; it’s just that simple. I could go on, but you get my point.

    Listen, I’m having a hard time typing coherent thoughts, so I shall sign off. Have a good night, and I’ll be back…

    MarkyMark

  12. MarkyMark Says:

    MCW,

    I too love your blog; keep up the great work! You’re on my link list, since I’m a regular here. If you haven’t already done so, could you link to me also? Thanks!

    Now, I would like to comment on your post…

    I never, ever, ever understood why the feminazis are so INTENT on storming into organizations which: 1) they do not really, truly want to join, as they do not and cannot subscribe to the TENETS of the church; 2) refuse to acknowledge the fact that an organization, such as the Catholic church, has a right to run its affairs as it sees fit, e.g. refuse to ordain women; 3) I absolutely HATE how the feminazis will not simply walk away from organizations with whom they differ on philosophy, but rather try to bend the church’s will to their liking.

    As for the ordination of female priests, I too am glad that the Catholic church is holding firm on the issue. I’m not a Catholic either, but I know fine people who are. Anyway, the church as a right to govern itself as it sees fit; it’s none of my business, nor is it anyone else’s business, as to how they do this. If I’m a member or aspiring member, I have one of two choices: 1) if I choose to stay, then I’m obligated to follow the Catholic church’s dicates; or 2) if I don’t like what they do, or how they do it, then I can walk away rather than cause disharmony within the church.

    That’s the PROPER & JUST way to treat all organizations. If you like what they do, fine; if you don’t, then you need to go elsewhere. I never, ever, ever understood why feminists don’t get this.

    Finally, while I understand why the Catholic church requires its priests to be celibate, I object to the MANDATORY NATURE of the church’s dictates. Why? Because it’s not SCRIPTURAL, that’s why. While Paul discussed the advantages of single vs. married life in I Cor 7, he never said that it was a REQUIREMENT; he only said it was an option, then laid down his reasons why. God never COMMANDS the Christian to be single; He only points out the pros & cons of each, and leaves it up to each person’s discretion.

    That said, even if a man has a good, Godly wife, one who treats him well, he will still be distracted by the duties and responsibilities to her. Good men want to see their wives happy; that means men will do things in an attempt to please their wives. We’re hard wired to do this as men.

    But, let’s say that a man has a Godly wife who isn’t materialistic at all. She doesn’t make his life miserable; if anything, she blesses him. That said, if she’s keeping the house and a sink clogs up, then who’s going to fix these problems? Most likely a man will do it. If a man has any decent bone in his body, he WILL fix the sink problem, so his wife won’t have to work as hard keeping their home. Of course, this will distract the man from an spiritual activities; it’s just that simple. I could go on, but you get my point.

    Listen, I’m having a hard time typing coherent thoughts, so I shall sign off. Have a good night, and I’ll be back…

    MarkyMark

  13. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Exposing Feminism, Marky Mark, I’ve linked to you both! Thanks!

  14. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Exposing Feminism, Marky Mark, I’ve linked to you both! Thanks!

  15. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Exposing Feminism, Marky Mark, I’ve linked to you both! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

