This reminded me of the Thanksgiving scene in "Atlas Shrugged".

I just had to listen to a certain person droning on about her friend, who we shall refer to as “Teresa”, though it is not her name.

My acquaintance is very proud of Teresa. Her mother is a Hispanic immigrant who has had… I forget how many illegitimate children, of whom Teresa is only one. Since Teresa’s mother never bothered to marry the fathers of her children, American taxpayers have been paying their bills for most of the last two and a half decades. Teresa’s sister is a substance abuser and has shacked up with a lowlife and is having babies with him, babies who will probably also be supported by the taxpayer until they reach adulthood. And probably afterwards, at that.

Given her background, Teresa is something of a prodigy. She made good grades at the public school she attended and stayed out of trouble. It helped that she was able to latch onto some of the teachers for emotional support and even gifts of clothes and books. I think she finagled this by parroting back what the teachers wanted to hear, which was of course liberal propaganda. I admit I’m a bit jealous of her; I was a good kid, bright and talented, and my teachers wouldn’t even tell my male classmates not to assault me. I wasn’t streetsmart enough to make my teachers feel like they were smart or to pretend I hoped Jimmy Carter would be re-elected. What I couldn’t have done with the kind of emotional support Teresa received! And perhaps in some other generation I might have had it. But nowadays, what teachers want is Teresas.

I don’t know how Teresa paid for college, but she went, and graduated not only with her virginity intact, but without ever having kissed a boy. I normally consider that degree of chastity unhealthy, but considering her background, it’s understandable.

Now that she’s graduated, however, instead of doing something useful with her life, she’s working for a feminist lobbying organization, meddling in the politics of a country she shouldn’t even be living in. A minute of Googling didn’t tell me if the organization receives tax money to supplement its private donations and I don’t care enough to keep digging. Naturally, Teresa has swallowed uncritically all the leftist crap she’s been fed for the past two decades of her young life. She shed tears of joy when Obama was elected.

What really set me off was when my acquaintance said, “Teresa seriously considered going to the Sudan. And I bet someday she will go to Africa to help there. She can’t stand the thought that little girls in Africa can’t get clean water, and through SHEER LUCK she can!”

That has nothing to do with luck, you ungrateful little tart. It has to do with the hard work, industry, and ingenuity of MEN – those people who you are trying to sweep aside in favor of women, who have given the world no such benefits.

The clean water you enjoy was a gift to you from men. From white men, for that matter. White Christian men! If you want little girls in Africa to have clean water, promote the freedom of Christian men to offer their wonderful gifts to the entire world. And start offering them some incentives for doing so.

6 Responses to “This reminded me of the Thanksgiving scene in "Atlas Shrugged".”

  1. rickthewriter Says:

    If you really read Atlas closely, you would understand that only to the degree were men acting on rational premises rather than mystical ones were they able to produce the abundance you describe. It’s not a question of white or Christian men vs brown or Muslim men it’s a question of rational men vs irrational men. Most of these places are impoverished precisely because they are so passionately religious and stagnant, and it is the religious ethics of Altruism that fuel the welfare state you decry and that preaches the very ‘service to the needy’ that drains the productive to feed people like teresa and her family.

    Your points are well taken, but you are mistaken as to the source of the values you admire. The heroes are the men of reason. Color is irrelevant and religion is part of the problem.

  2. rickthewriter Says:

    If you really read Atlas closely, you would understand that only to the degree were men acting on rational premises rather than mystical ones were they able to produce the abundance you describe. It’s not a question of white or Christian men vs brown or Muslim men it’s a question of rational men vs irrational men. Most of these places are impoverished precisely because they are so passionately religious and stagnant, and it is the religious ethics of Altruism that fuel the welfare state you decry and that preaches the very ‘service to the needy’ that drains the productive to feed people like teresa and her family.

    Your points are well taken, but you are mistaken as to the source of the values you admire. The heroes are the men of reason. Color is irrelevant and religion is part of the problem.

  3. rickthewriter Says:

    If you really read Atlas closely, you would understand that only to the degree were men acting on rational premises rather than mystical ones were they able to produce the abundance you describe. It’s not a question of white or Christian men vs brown or Muslim men it’s a question of rational men vs irrational men. Most of these places are impoverished precisely because they are so passionately religious and stagnant, and it is the religious ethics of Altruism that fuel the welfare state you decry and that preaches the very ‘service to the needy’ that drains the productive to feed people like teresa and her family.

    Your points are well taken, but you are mistaken as to the source of the values you admire. The heroes are the men of reason. Color is irrelevant and religion is part of the problem.

  4. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Rick,

    If you really read Atlas closely, you would understand….No. If I read Atlas closely, which I have, I would understand that Ayn Rand believes that “only to the degree were men acting on rational premises rather than mystical ones were they able to produce the abundance”. Which I do. Understanding that she believes it and understanding that it is true are two different things.

    I was an Objectivist when I was younger. However, after many years of thought and study, I have been forced to conclude that Rand was wrong. As are you. Religion is not the problem. The Industrial Revolution was begun by religious men.

    As for color, I have stated repeatedly in my blog that I do not go in for “race realism”. If you really read my post closely, you would understand that I was pointing out that the men who created that abundance are white because this Hispanic woman who voted for an unqualified and corrupt mulatto for president is not willing to give credit to those who are white and male for her good fortune. She, like many liberals, is a reverse racist.

  5. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Rick,

    If you really read Atlas closely, you would understand….No. If I read Atlas closely, which I have, I would understand that Ayn Rand believes that “only to the degree were men acting on rational premises rather than mystical ones were they able to produce the abundance”. Which I do. Understanding that she believes it and understanding that it is true are two different things.

    I was an Objectivist when I was younger. However, after many years of thought and study, I have been forced to conclude that Rand was wrong. As are you. Religion is not the problem. The Industrial Revolution was begun by religious men.

    As for color, I have stated repeatedly in my blog that I do not go in for “race realism”. If you really read my post closely, you would understand that I was pointing out that the men who created that abundance are white because this Hispanic woman who voted for an unqualified and corrupt mulatto for president is not willing to give credit to those who are white and male for her good fortune. She, like many liberals, is a reverse racist.

  6. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Rick,

    If you really read Atlas closely, you would understand….No. If I read Atlas closely, which I have, I would understand that Ayn Rand believes that “only to the degree were men acting on rational premises rather than mystical ones were they able to produce the abundance”. Which I do. Understanding that she believes it and understanding that it is true are two different things.

    I was an Objectivist when I was younger. However, after many years of thought and study, I have been forced to conclude that Rand was wrong. As are you. Religion is not the problem. The Industrial Revolution was begun by religious men.

    As for color, I have stated repeatedly in my blog that I do not go in for “race realism”. If you really read my post closely, you would understand that I was pointing out that the men who created that abundance are white because this Hispanic woman who voted for an unqualified and corrupt mulatto for president is not willing to give credit to those who are white and male for her good fortune. She, like many liberals, is a reverse racist.

Leave a Reply

