One more argument for co-education

Interacting with women makes men stupid

Johan C. Karremans and colleagues at Radboud University of Nijmegen in The Netherlands tested the prediction that mixed-sex interactions temporarily cause a decline in cognitive functioning.

In two studies, they had participants interact with a stranger of either the same or opposite sex and complete a cognitive task both before and after the interaction….

Are there practical implications of these findings? The researchers think so. A perennial debate concerns the merits and disadvantages of single-sex versus coed schools. According to the researchers, it is possible that cognitive abilities may decline in mixed-sex settings, since “Part of boys’ valuable cognitive resources may be spent on impressing their female class members.”

I’d like to joke here about how difficult life must be for you heterosexuals, except that I know perfectly well that my brain shuts down around pretty girls just as much as any man’s does.

21 Responses to “One more argument for co-education”

  1. Derek Says:

    I don't think co-schools are bad, just co-ed class rooms. Interacting with the opposite sex would be fine during lunch, recess, ect.

  2. Derek Says:

    I don't think co-schools are bad, just co-ed class rooms. Interacting with the opposite sex would be fine during lunch, recess, ect.

  3. Derek Says:

    I don't think co-schools are bad, just co-ed class rooms. Interacting with the opposite sex would be fine during lunch, recess, ect.

  4. Alphadominance Says:

    Single sex schools belong to a time when we were all "innocent and virginal and chaste" and religious. Screw that, I want any potential offspring I have to develop social skills around the opposite sex. For an example of retarded intersexual interaction look to Japan. They are so woefully immature comparatively and it's largely due to social segregation of the sexes even where they go to school together.

  5. Alphadominance Says:

    Single sex schools belong to a time when we were all "innocent and virginal and chaste" and religious. Screw that, I want any potential offspring I have to develop social skills around the opposite sex. For an example of retarded intersexual interaction look to Japan. They are so woefully immature comparatively and it's largely due to social segregation of the sexes even where they go to school together.

  6. Alphadominance Says:

    Single sex schools belong to a time when we were all "innocent and virginal and chaste" and religious. Screw that, I want any potential offspring I have to develop social skills around the opposite sex. For an example of retarded intersexual interaction look to Japan. They are so woefully immature comparatively and it's largely due to social segregation of the sexes even where they go to school together.

  7. The_Editrix Says:

    I never thought about it in such terms, but to me it seems a great idea. However, there ought to be strictly non-co-ed schools available as well. It depends on the individual child.

  8. The_Editrix Says:

    I never thought about it in such terms, but to me it seems a great idea. However, there ought to be strictly non-co-ed schools available as well. It depends on the individual child.

  9. The_Editrix Says:

    I never thought about it in such terms, but to me it seems a great idea. However, there ought to be strictly non-co-ed schools available as well. It depends on the individual child.

  10. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Most people today go to co-ed schools and we're inept at dealing with the opposite sex. Clearly it doesn't help. Really, the psychological health that comes from single-sex education will give young people the confidence to be better with the opposite sex.

  11. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Most people today go to co-ed schools and we're inept at dealing with the opposite sex. Clearly it doesn't help. Really, the psychological health that comes from single-sex education will give young people the confidence to be better with the opposite sex.

  12. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    Most people today go to co-ed schools and we're inept at dealing with the opposite sex. Clearly it doesn't help. Really, the psychological health that comes from single-sex education will give young people the confidence to be better with the opposite sex.

  13. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    And btw, my mother thinks that I grew up to be a lesbian because the boys I went to school with were so obnoxious that it turned me off the sterner sex. I think that sexual orientation is already set at birth or in infancy, but the boys I went to school with were horrendous enough to make her theory plausible.

    Boys and girls have different ways of thinking and different aptitudes. Plus, co-ed schools end up being taught by women, who aren't qualified to teach boys to become men. For the safety of little girls and the proper development of little boys, the sexes should never be schooled together.

  14. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    And btw, my mother thinks that I grew up to be a lesbian because the boys I went to school with were so obnoxious that it turned me off the sterner sex. I think that sexual orientation is already set at birth or in infancy, but the boys I went to school with were horrendous enough to make her theory plausible.

    Boys and girls have different ways of thinking and different aptitudes. Plus, co-ed schools end up being taught by women, who aren't qualified to teach boys to become men. For the safety of little girls and the proper development of little boys, the sexes should never be schooled together.

  15. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    And btw, my mother thinks that I grew up to be a lesbian because the boys I went to school with were so obnoxious that it turned me off the sterner sex. I think that sexual orientation is already set at birth or in infancy, but the boys I went to school with were horrendous enough to make her theory plausible.

    Boys and girls have different ways of thinking and different aptitudes. Plus, co-ed schools end up being taught by women, who aren't qualified to teach boys to become men. For the safety of little girls and the proper development of little boys, the sexes should never be schooled together.

  16. The_Editrix Says:

    "I think that sexual orientation is already set at birth or in infancy…"

    Nobody really knows the reasons for the different sexual orientations, but I tend to agree with that.

    I went to a "Rudolf Steiner School" where they practised co-education before it became fashionable or the norm in Germany. (Beware, they are sect-schools, but that is beside the point here.) I am a single child and found the opportunity to, somewhat naturally, meet and grow up with boys rather valuable, even if it may have been the only good thing I experienced there. I guess it was what AD calls "to develop social skills around the opposite sex". However, that doesn't devaluate your point. It is very much depending on the individual. For a shy girl it will be an excrutiating experience and I agree 100% that the actual lessons ought to be performed separately.

  17. The_Editrix Says:

    "I think that sexual orientation is already set at birth or in infancy…"

    Nobody really knows the reasons for the different sexual orientations, but I tend to agree with that.

    I went to a "Rudolf Steiner School" where they practised co-education before it became fashionable or the norm in Germany. (Beware, they are sect-schools, but that is beside the point here.) I am a single child and found the opportunity to, somewhat naturally, meet and grow up with boys rather valuable, even if it may have been the only good thing I experienced there. I guess it was what AD calls "to develop social skills around the opposite sex". However, that doesn't devaluate your point. It is very much depending on the individual. For a shy girl it will be an excrutiating experience and I agree 100% that the actual lessons ought to be performed separately.

  18. The_Editrix Says:

    "I think that sexual orientation is already set at birth or in infancy…"

    Nobody really knows the reasons for the different sexual orientations, but I tend to agree with that.

    I went to a "Rudolf Steiner School" where they practised co-education before it became fashionable or the norm in Germany. (Beware, they are sect-schools, but that is beside the point here.) I am a single child and found the opportunity to, somewhat naturally, meet and grow up with boys rather valuable, even if it may have been the only good thing I experienced there. I guess it was what AD calls "to develop social skills around the opposite sex". However, that doesn't devaluate your point. It is very much depending on the individual. For a shy girl it will be an excrutiating experience and I agree 100% that the actual lessons ought to be performed separately.

  19. Alphadominance Says:

    I'm not sure about Germany, but here co-ed schools have been the norm for quite a long time. While there are some differences in the way genders learn, there are differences between the way individuals learn within genders too. Generally teaching to a group is a disservice to someone but the only solution would be individual education and far to costly.

    School can be tough for the shy and social maladapted generally, yet you don't harden iron by keeping it out of the fire. Schools, like any social group, has hierarchies that develop and cruelties that are perpetrated and there's no way around that. From my experience I'd say that intragender teasing and harassment is typically far harsher than cross-gender teasing. My sister had no end of cruelties against her by the other girls, yet got along well with the boys. I think this is typical, at least here. If kids were to be separated I wouldn't think it would be constructive beyond elementary school. If we all have to grow up to work together it'll will benefit us to have the experience earlier.

    Research is showing some correlation between pre-natal hormone exposure and sexual orientation. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=ArticleURL&_udi=B6TBX-45JGY4N-2&_user=10&_rdoc=1&_fmt=&_orig=search&_sort=d&view=c&_acct=C000050221&_version=1&_urlVersion=0&_userid=10&md5=3f11da77ef9f0287f95f5464e2ba59af

  20. Alphadominance Says:

    I'm not sure about Germany, but here co-ed schools have been the norm for quite a long time. While there are some differences in the way genders learn, there are differences between the way individuals learn within genders too. Generally teaching to a group is a disservice to someone but the only solution would be individual education and far to costly.

    School can be tough for the shy and social maladapted generally, yet you don't harden iron by keeping it out of the fire. Schools, like any social group, has hierarchies that develop and cruelties that are perpetrated and there's no way around that. From my experience I'd say that intragender teasing and harassment is typically far harsher than cross-gender teasing. My sister had no end of cruelties against her by the other girls, yet got along well with the boys. I think this is typical, at least here. If kids were to be separated I wouldn't think it would be constructive beyond elementary school. If we all have to grow up to work together it'll will benefit us to have the experience earlier.

    Research is showing some correlation between pre-natal hormone exposure and sexual orientation. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=ArticleURL&_udi=B6TBX-45JGY4N-2&_user=10&_rdoc=1&_fmt=&_orig=search&_sort=d&view=c&_acct=C000050221&_version=1&_urlVersion=0&_userid=10&md5=3f11da77ef9f0287f95f5464e2ba59af

  21. Alphadominance Says:

    I'm not sure about Germany, but here co-ed schools have been the norm for quite a long time. While there are some differences in the way genders learn, there are differences between the way individuals learn within genders too. Generally teaching to a group is a disservice to someone but the only solution would be individual education and far to costly.

    School can be tough for the shy and social maladapted generally, yet you don't harden iron by keeping it out of the fire. Schools, like any social group, has hierarchies that develop and cruelties that are perpetrated and there's no way around that. From my experience I'd say that intragender teasing and harassment is typically far harsher than cross-gender teasing. My sister had no end of cruelties against her by the other girls, yet got along well with the boys. I think this is typical, at least here. If kids were to be separated I wouldn't think it would be constructive beyond elementary school. If we all have to grow up to work together it'll will benefit us to have the experience earlier.

    Research is showing some correlation between pre-natal hormone exposure and sexual orientation. http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=ArticleURL&_udi=B6TBX-45JGY4N-2&_user=10&_rdoc=1&_fmt=&_orig=search&_sort=d&view=c&_acct=C000050221&_version=1&_urlVersion=0&_userid=10&md5=3f11da77ef9f0287f95f5464e2ba59af

Leave a Reply

