Postscript

I just reread the email notification of the hysterical feminist comments, and I think I know why she accused me of having bad grammar. Her comments were on a thread that also included several comments from the Editrix, and she seems to be confused about whether the Editrix and I are the same person.

Not only are we not, but the Editrix is German, as anyone could find out by clicking over to her blog. Her English is very good – sure as hell better than my German, which consists of the phrase “Bei Mir Bist Du Schoen”. (I’m not even sure which words to uncapitalize.) But she does make small errors. Considering how many people, including the feminist commenter, can barely write a sentence in their own native language, I’m inclined not to judge that harshly.

Moral: if you want to criticize someone’s grammar, 1) make sure the person you’re attacking actually wrote the post that contains the mistakes, and 2) ascertain whether or not the poster is writing in his native tongue. Criticizing foreigners for making minor mistakes in your language just makes you look like an asshat.

9 Responses to “Postscript”

  1. The_Editrix Says:

    I hope she comes over to my blog to correct my grammar once she's twigged that we are not the same person. I am always glad to learn. (Seriously!)

    Do you think she knows how to find the blog of a commenter?

  2. The_Editrix Says:

    I hope she comes over to my blog to correct my grammar once she's twigged that we are not the same person. I am always glad to learn. (Seriously!)

    Do you think she knows how to find the blog of a commenter?

  3. The_Editrix Says:

    I hope she comes over to my blog to correct my grammar once she's twigged that we are not the same person. I am always glad to learn. (Seriously!)

    Do you think she knows how to find the blog of a commenter?

  4. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    I doubt it. And her own grammar is so bad that I'd take any corrections she offers with a grain of salt.

    If you like, when you comment I'll let you know if you've made any errors. I haven't so far because some people would get offended at unsolicited corrections. But I'm really impressed at your English. People who can speak a foreign language well impress me a lot.

  5. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    I doubt it. And her own grammar is so bad that I'd take any corrections she offers with a grain of salt.

    If you like, when you comment I'll let you know if you've made any errors. I haven't so far because some people would get offended at unsolicited corrections. But I'm really impressed at your English. People who can speak a foreign language well impress me a lot.

  6. Male Chauvinist Woman Says:

    I doubt it. And her own grammar is so bad that I'd take any corrections she offers with a grain of salt.

    If you like, when you comment I'll let you know if you've made any errors. I haven't so far because some people would get offended at unsolicited corrections. But I'm really impressed at your English. People who can speak a foreign language well impress me a lot.

  7. The_Editrix Says:

    PLEASE do!

  8. The_Editrix Says:

    PLEASE do!

  9. The_Editrix Says:

    PLEASE do!

Leave a Reply

