Misogynist short story

Women are from Venus. Or somewhere.

The Misogynist by James Gunn

I have a good record of the way the story was created. First came the idea: I wrote the story in 1951, but the idea itself occurred to me in the fall of 1950. My first son was a year old and still not sleeping at night, and the tensions of attending graduate school, writing a thesis, and rocking a child had brought out certain differences of opinion between my wife and me. Like many a man without sisters, I had always thought women were sort of soft men, arranged in a delightfully different way. But one day I thought: men and women don’t think alike; they are so different, in fact, that they might as well be different species. And then I thought: Women are aliens. I wrote that down on a note card so I wouldn’t forget it, a card I still have and show to my classes: Women are aliens.

This is on a site called Fathers For Life:

The website of Fathers for Life is in defence of men and fathers. It promotes fathers within, not without families.
Deadbeat fathers are a very small, minuscule minority and not representative of all men, just as deadbeat mothers are not representative of all mothers or women. However, we hear incessantly about deadbeat or violent fathers and men, while feminist activists and the feminist-dominated media sweep the issue of deadbeat mothers and far greater numbers of violent women in all cases of domestic violence (esp. when it comes to violence against children) under the carpet.
Our website illustrates how the all-pervasive vilification of men, of fathers and of the traditional nuclear family grew out of the systematic implementation of the international agenda for the planned destruction of the family.

Leave a Reply

