The ego epidemic: How more and more of us women have an inflated sense of our own fabulousness

Us women are more egocentric and narcissistic than we ever used to be, according to extensive research by two leading psychologists.

More of us have huge expectations of ourselves, our lives and everyone in them. We think the universe resolves around us, with a deluded sense of our own fabulousness, and believe we are cleverer, more talented and more attractive than we actually are.

We have trouble accepting criticism and extending empathy because we are so preoccupied with ourselves.

Addicted to shopping: Half of women admit they can’t go a day without buying something

More than 15million British women are addicted to shopping, a study revealed today.

Researchers found over half of the entire female population shop because it gives them a high and a third can’t help spending money – even when they can’t afford it.

Six out of ten said they ‘have to’ spend money every single day – even if it just meant buying bread or milk.

Why I loathe feminism… and believe it will ultimately destroy the family By Erin Pizzey

ERIN PIZZEY set up the world’s first refuge for battered women in 1971 – and went on to establish an international movement for victims of domestic violence. But what she has never made public before is that her own childhood was scarred by the shocking cruelty of both her parents.

My father was ordered to Beirut by the diplomatic service, and we were left as refugees in Kokstad, South Africa. From living in an enormous house with a fleet of servants and a nanny, my twin sister Rosaleen and I were suddenly at the mercy of my mother Pat’s temper. And it was ferocious. Having escaped the brutality of the war, we were introduced to a new brand domestic cruelty.

Indeed, my mother’s explosive temper and abusive behaviour shaped the person I later became like no other event in my life.
Thirty years later, when feminism exploded onto the scene, I was often mistaken for a supporter of the movement. But I have never been a feminist, because, having experienced my mother’s violence, I always knew that women can be as vicious and irresponsible as men.

Indeed, I would go so far as to say that the movement, which proclaimed that all men are potential rapists and batterers, was based on a lie that, if allowed to flourish, would result in the complete destruction of family life….

Indeed, when I later opened my refuge for battered women, 62 of the first 100 to come through the door were as abusive as the men they had left….

Needless to say, my mother went berserk. She took me upstairs and beat me with an ironing cord until the blood ran down my legs. I showed my injuries to my teacher the next morning – but she just stared back impassively and did nothing….

Feminism, I realised, was a lie. Women and men are both capable of extraordinary cruelty. Indeed, the only thing a child really needs – two biological parents under one roof – was being undermined by the very ideology which claimed to speak up for women’s rights.

This country is now on the brink of serious moral collapse. We must stop demonising men and start healing the rift that feminism has created between men and women.
Harriet Harman’s insidious and manipulative philosophy that women are always victims and men always oppressors can only continue this unspeakable cycle of violence. And it’s our children who will suffer.

6 Responses to “”

  1. globalman100 Says:

    "a third can't help spending money – even when they can't afford it."
    Yep…my ex used to go on 8 (yes you read that correctly) overseas holidays a year…..even if only a 'camping trip' or something…could not go a school break without going overseas…social death you know.

    She had no problem taking money that was earmarked to pay taxes (I owned my own company) to pay for holidays. Who wants a woman like that? And cutting up a credit card is 'domestic violence'.

    Eastern woman? They are happy with normal restaurants and small gifts. I gave my fav#1 (of 3) a small (for me) budget to buy some lingerie. She was shocked. She said it was the most expensive lingerie she ever bought. As her 'gift' back to me? She danced in it for me…very nicely I must say, in a very feminine way.

    She is 35, 50kgs, 170cm and runs a marathon in under 4 hours….in other words HOT….but FM…don't you be coming to Germany and be stealing any of my favs…;-)

  2. globalman100 Says:

    ERIN PIZZEY..us men owe here a debt of great grattitude….nearly 40 years she has been saying these things….women threaten her.

  3. Female Misogynist Says:

    One thing I've never done is steal anyone else's girl. She's safe with me. *wink*

  4. globalman100 Says:

    "We have trouble accepting criticism"
    Women are total failures in the work place because of this. Many men LOVE it when someone points out improvments or errors in what they have done….I do….this way we learn….only idiot men don't look for constructive criticism and they languish in their careers. Women?

    I have not given a woman unsolicited advice since I was 21….(24 years ago). Why? The woman who replaced me at my job when I was 21 (she was 24 and already had her degree) had a nervous breakdown from all the 'pressure'. I recall making the comment to the effect to a woman "Well, she is three years older than me, has already got her degree, is getting paid twice as much as me, and she has a nervous break down and all I hear is about how 'poor Julie has got it so bad?'. I did that job for 2 years and I can't even remember being told 'thank you' once."

    All statments of fact. Well….you would think I had said I had been raping her for 20 years in an underground cellar!!!

    I was a sexist, chauvenist, woman-hating bastard for speaking words that were demonstrably true. I never helped another women without being asked ever again. And women almost NEVER ask me for help.

  5. MikeT Says:

    globalman100,

    It's women like that which make women like my wife have to work twice as hard to get respect.

    I think the reason I instinctively never grew up as a feminist sympathizer was that my mother was a federal agent back in the 70s and used to regale me with stories about how the "strong, independent women" would bat their eyes at a man and say "george, can you take this case… *twirls hair with finger* I'm a woman and it's dangerous." She looked like she could chew through steel sometimes when she would tell me those stories…

  6. silly girl Says:

    It is funny I was thinking of this last night in regards to another post about women not needing to be rescued but rather women need to be more responsible.

    I heard on the radio some advertisement for a book, I think, and it was directed to men regarding marriage. Anyway one line was that a man should put his wife first after God. So I said to my husband, when was the last time you heard someone advising women to put their husbands first? If men need such advice, certainly women do as well.

    There is a reason there was a show called "Mean Girls" because girls sure can be mean, and often are to those least deserving their meanness.

Leave a Reply

