Solipsism

From Wikipedia: “Solipsism is the philosophical idea that one’s own mind is all that exists.” It adds, “Metaphysical solipsism is the variety of idealism which maintains that the individual self of the solipsistic philosopher is the whole of reality and that the external world and other persons are representations of that self having no independent existence.”

Many people – by which I mean “liberals” – have a mild form of this disorder. They really, truly do not believe that anyone can disagree with them. Therefore, people who say things they don’t like, like me, must be lying. Really, we agree with all their bullshit about equality and government intervention and all the rest of it! We’re just pretending to disagree to be mean to them! Because, you know, we don’t have anything better to do with our time than spend hours writing blogs or even books that we don’t mean to make them mad!

I mention this because just today, I got a comment from a new reader, saying he (?) loves my blog and hopes it isn’t a satire. Now and then I get comments accusing me of being a “troll”. Good grief, look at how many posts I’ve made. Look how many links I’ve dug up. Look how many books I’ve read and reviewed. Would anyone put that amount of work into something they didn’t believe in?

But solipsists, believing that the world revolves around them, never think that.

And you don’t have to have views as unfashionable as mine to get this reaction. I’ve gotten it over much more popular views. Some years back, when I was a mainstream conservative, I got into an argument on some forum about the then-President. Some woman (naturally it was a woman) claimed that my views were so outrageous that my post “must be a joke.” Now, think about this. She had to be fully aware that enough people in this country disagreed with her to get the candidate she didn’t like elected president. Why single me, of millions of voters, out as a “joke”? Did she imagine that every one of the millions of people who vote Republican are doing it as a “joke”? “Ha ha, I’m going to cast my ballot for someone I can’t stand. What a great joke!”

This is partly because TV and newspapers are so monolithically left-wing. And feminist to the point that it’s comical, particularly the way movies and TV shows constantly depict women as beating up men twice their size. Liberals are dumb enough to believe that TV depicts real life. Leaves them completely unprepared for the real world, which is full of unenlightened people who believe their own eyes instead of the fantasies of left-wing professors.

One Response to “Solipsism”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I see your complain, and raise you your absolutist phrasing – not all liberals are vociferous and stupid, not all feminists are idealists, not all people with egocentric issues are liberals and feminists.

    Feminist blogs get tons of comments accusing them of the same things you are being accused of. Opinions differ, and it is a part of America.

    I do not argue that some people have egocentric viewpoints, and that these can be terribly annoying. But they exist in all categories that we design for ourselves. They are not connected with those categories in and of themselves, but with specific people, individuals, who happen to somehow have gotten through life well enough to have access to a computer.

    Though personally I think that in solipsism it's possible for others to disagree with you – that's just how your mind manifested them. It's the egocentric viewpoint that other people actually care what one thinks that gets me; it's so ironic that everyone thinks others care about their thoughts, when most people just care about themselves.

Leave a Reply

