Professional Feminism

Was just reading Roissy’s latest post, and he linked back to one of his old Beta Of The Month posts, the one about the feminist wedding. I decided to see my or Roissy’s predictions about their marriage have come true yet – I think Roissy is right that she’ll cuckold him, and my own prediction is that she’ll leave him and take him to the cleaners in the settlement – so I went to her profile page.

(I obviously rarely visit the feministing website, so I didn’t know until this evening that one of the “feminists” who rants there calls herself “Professor Foxy”. Boy, does that sound liberated!)

I didn’t find anything about her marriage, but there is a summary of her “career”:

Jessica is a 30 year-old feminist writer from New York. She has a Masters degree in Women’s and Gender Studies from Rutgers University and has worked with organizations such as NARAL Pro-Choice America, Legal Momentum (formerly NOW Legal Defense and Education Fund), Planned Parenthood, the Women’s Environment and Development Organization (WEDO) and Ms. magazine. She is also a co-founder of the REAL hot 100, a campaign to highlight the important work that young women are doing across the country.

Jessica is the editor of Beijing Betrayed, a global monitoring report on women’s progress worldwide and a contributing author to We Don’t Need Another Wave and Single State of the Union (Seal Press). Her writing has appeared in Ms. magazine, Salon, The Guardian (UK), Bitch, Alternet, The Scholar & Feminist and Guernica.

In April 2007, Jessica was named one of ELLE magazine’s IntELLEgentsia.

She is the author of two books, Full Frontal Feminism: A Young Woman’s Guide to Why Feminism Matters, and He’s a Stud, She’s a Slut…and 49 Other Double Standards Every Woman Should Know. She’s also a co-editor of Yes Means Yes: Visions of Female Sexual Power and A World Without Rape

Her newest book, The Purity Myth: How America’s Obsession with Virginity is Hurting Young Women, will be out in Spring 2009.

I guess I’m still behind the times, because I found this utterly baffling. Here’s this dame whose entire life work is walking around being a feminist. That’s it, that’s all she does. She got a masterette’s degree for spending years shoring up her opinions – Women’s Studies is not a real subject, and that there is a major in it just shows how useless college has become, and why I am not impressed that feminists have “made education available to women”. A fluffy fashion magazine has named her an intellectual, with a girly pun in the term. She “works” with organizations that bitch about how unfeminist the world is, and bitches on paper about the same thing. She spends all of her waking hours bitching that women aren’t seen as equal to men.

I doubt she would grasp the irony of that last sentence.

At least Nancy Hopkins, the dimbo who got Larry Summers shafted, has a science degree even if she probably got a guy to do her homework in exchange for sex, and she has some sort of pretense at a science career in between her real career of bitching that women in science aren’t taken seriously. (Her attack on Professor Summers was just one of a long list of publicity stunts she used to convince women who are trying to do actual scientific research that they’re being discriminated against, which oddly they never noticed until she made it up.)

It would just have never occurred to me to make a career out of going around telling people my opinions. Why should anyone care what this baggage thinks? Why should anyone be willing to pay to hear her opinions? This is the feminist idea of a “career” – do what you feel like doing and get paid for it. If she had real achievements of some sort and thought that women needed activism, I would have some respect for her, even though obviously I would still disagree with her completely. But she’s never bothered to make any, because she’s devoted her life instead to bitching at people to share her beliefs and wreck their lives by behaving accordingly. And of course, no matter how careful anyone is, she will find some way of catching them committing thought crimes, because it’s impossible for anyone to actually think the way progressives want everyone to. Even the most rabid blue-stater isn’t that out of touch with reality. So there are always heresies for libtards to root out!

One final amusing note. A few years ago, she and a few other SWPL leftie bloggers got to have dinner with former President Clinton. (What? She gets to meet a former president for a decade of expressing her opinion? I express my opinion, do I get to meet a former president?) She wrote an essay griping because apparently, a lot of commenters made a big deal about the fact that in the photo of Clinton with the bloggers, she had breasts. I skimmed some of the comments and based on the ones I looked at, I think that they were mostly inspired by Slick Willie’s reputation as a lecher, though really that means that putting a fairly attractive (for a feminist) young woman right in front of him in the photo was a bad choice.

Well, her breasts aren’t small, so unless she was going to wear some baggy monstrosity, she really couldn’t hide them. Mine aren’t small either, so I know what I’m talking about; as a soft butch, I’d rather de-emphasize mine, but surgery’s the only thing that could effectively de-emphasize these. She wasn’t showing them off. Women who think she was have small breasts. If she had been wearing a plunging neckline or something, I’d agree with the people who made a big deal, but she wasn’t; she just has large breasts. Women who are so endowed are under no obligation to conceal the fact from the world, especially since doing so is damn near impossible. Yeah, on that charge I’m defending her. From other feminists, in fact; she and another feminist had quite a catfight over it.

But what I found amusing was, after reading her article griping over Breastgate, I went to Google to see if I could find the picture and judge for myself. I assumed I would have to dig around a lot to find it.

Well, not only was it easy to find, but when I typed “Jessica Valenti” into the Google search box, before I was even done with her last name, Google suggested the search phrase “Jessica Valenti breast”.

Don’t be evil.

4 Responses to “Professional Feminism”

  1. Voice and Noise Says:

    Speaking of pro-feministas have you read this gem: http://kiyannasnotepad.blogspot.com/2009/01/10-myth-of-medusa-are-we-still-living.html

  2. Female Misogynist Says:

    No, I hadn't read that. What a bunch of blather. And she seems to have a fairly good brain; if she hadn't been brainwashed by feminism, she might have done something constructive with it.

  3. globalman100 Says:

    Someone MARRIED that bitch….that's not beta of the month that's zeta of the month…I'm not sure that is even a letter it's so far down the greek alphabet! And yep…in the photo..typical posing whore…..LOL!

  4. Hestia Says:

    I can't get past the subject of her most recent book. American has an obsession with virginity? Really? And how would not getting STDs or becoming a single mother from an unplanned pregnancy be a harmful reality to face?When I did my brief stint in college, I foolishly went to a "discussion" being hosted on campus by our very own feminists on the topic of female sexuality. Being naive and, well, seventeen, I thought my argument for virginity as an empowering choice would be welcome. HAHAHAHAHA. You would think I had revoked the Almighty Sacrament of Abortion with the way I was treated for my views. Feminism: The Notion That Only Those Who Agree With Us Are Human Too

Leave a Reply

